Margaret Grimscheid, Jeffery Giradot named 2017 George Dekan Memorial Scholarship recipients

ITCCCA ITCCCA News & Updates

ITCCCA is proud to announce the 2017 winners of the George Dekan Memorial Scholarship. The following Illinois student-athletes will be awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

Jeffrey Giradot

Jeffrey Thomas Giradot graduated from Benet Academy in Lisle, IL, and will be attending the University of Notre Dame, where he plans on majoring in Science Pre-Professional. A proud member and President of Benet’s National Honor Society, Jeffrey is a National Merit Commended Scholar, as well as the East Suburban Catholic Conference (ESCC) Cross Country Champion for 2016. He wrote about his time running in high school, “When I look back…I know that some of the best moments will have taken place on a track or Cross Country course.”

Margaret Girmscheid

Margaret Girmscheid graduated from Grayslake Central High School in Grayslake, IL, and will be attending Washington University in St. Louis, MO, where she will major in Psychology. The top-ranked student in her senior class, Margaret is a member of the National Honors Society and has volunteered countless hours in and around her community. She qualified numerous times for State competition, and wrote of her experiences, “I have learned the value of hard work and have developed a strong work ethic that encapsulates everything I do.”

The Illinois Track and Cross Country Coaches’ Association, as well as family and friends of George Dekan, proudly sponsor the George Dekan Memorial Scholarship to commemorate the life of an amazing individual, and to assist local student-athletes of Cross Country and / or Track and Field with their college expenditures.